Kat’s Hi-5’s!

Written by Kat Curey

Every Friday, a staff member at the ugly hug curates a list of their five favorite new(ish) releases to share with us all. This week, our writer and photographer Kat put together a list of swooning tin-can laments, indie-folk gems and coarse pensive rockers.

Will Roesner – “Ant”

Will Roesner, based out of New Orleans, LA has been gifting us with singles consistently throughout the year and I always get a dopamine rush when I hear one of his new releases. “Ant” is one of my favorites from the last batch of releases. I’m a sucker for a slow, sad burn and Roesner delivers just that. With a lo-fi guitar, a little twang, layered vocals, and cutting lyrics it checks all the boxes. Every time I listen I imagine the meme of a sad little ant with a sack over its shoulder (if you know you know), so bonus points for that. If you’re into the worlds of Elliot Smith, Alex G, and Greg Mendez, Will Roesner will be a perfect addition. Check out his last albums Farms and Stuff and Spirit, Hello for more lo-fi indie/folk goodness.

meg elsier – “forlyleinsanfrancisco

Nothing catches my attention quite like an angsty alt-pop song. Thanks to meg elsier my emo alter ego is nurtured. I became a devoted listener with the discovery of last fall’s single “ifshitfuq”. elsier has not failed to impress, putting out one reliable track after another, perfect for singing along to in the car. “forlyleinsanfrancisco” features a driving electric guitar and a nice slow build that results in a noisy and ever-satisfying resolve. Her full-length album spittake, to be released this summer, will undoubtedly be an authentic and vibrant collection of tunes to follow.

True Green – “Buzzerbeater”

“Buzzerbeater” off of Dan Hornsby’s debut album My Lost Decade has been on heavy rotation for the last few months. Hornsby, who is also an author (Sucker, Via Negativa) brilliantly crafts songs through idiosyncratic narratives and character depictions that never fail to engage and beguile. My attachment to “Buzzerbeater” likely stems from my affinity for mathy fingerpicking, an egg shaker, and lyrics that evoke a reflective and nostalgic mood. I recommend enjoying the album in its entirety on a sunny walk in a park to compliment My Lost Decade’s breezy warmth. Fans of Slaughter Beach, Dog, and Trace Mountains might be particularly drawn to this one.

Bloomsday – “Dollar Slice”

Brooklyn-based artist, Bloomsday, has steadily become one of my holy grail artists alongside other East Coast talents in similar taste like Babehoven, Sadurn, and Sister.. Bloomsday always offers crisp, deeply satisfying, tender reflections on the human experience. One of three of their latest singles, “Dollar Slice” has been a welcomed companion to the blossoms of spring. “Dollar Slice” pulls out all the stops with layered vocals of my dreams, perfect touches of twang, and subtle percussive adornments. You’ll likely leave the song with a softened sense of self and a more regulated nervous system. Keep your eyes out for the album release of Heart of the Artichoke off Bayonet Records on June 7th, just in time to complement the soundtrack of your summer.

Sour Widows – “Cherish”

Sour Widows, the trio from the Bay Area, is my go to band for all my alt rock needs; dark guitar tones, slow builds, and pensive contemplations on life. Sour Widows are masters of duality, always simultaneously portraying the tenderness and harshness of life. “Cherish” achieves so much in the matter of 5 minutes. The song slowly builds and eventually crashes into the chorus’ tender harmonic plea, “I wanna be cherished by you, not feared by you”. The song’s clashing resolution provides the catharsis of a good car scream. I love to listen to Sour Widows alongside other melancholic alt-rock bands like Title Fight and Crisman. Don’t miss the release of their first full length album Revival of a Friend, out on June 28 via Exploding In Sound.


Leave a comment